skip navigation

Battle of the Blades

January 13-15, 2023 | $975 entry fee | 3-game guarantee

Bantam A, B & C Tournament Rules

  • USA Hockey rules will govern all play.

  • A USA Hockey roster and USA Registration documentation must be presented at check-in before each team’s first game.

  • The referees will be in charge of the game, and no obscene language or gestures will be tolerated. A “ZERO TOLERANCE” policy will be strictly enforced.

  • All teams will be expected to be ready to take the ice 30 minutes prior to their scheduled game time, as games may start early.

  • Warm-up time is five (5) minutes. The period break during a non-resurfacing break is one (1) minute.

  • Each team will be guaranteed at least three games, and each game will consist of 3 periods of 15-minute stop time. The ice will be resurfaced at the start of each game only. 

  • Running time will start when a team has a six-goal lead. The clock will stop for penalties & goals. Stop-time will be resumed if the lead is reduced to less than six goals.

  • The tournament officials reserve the right to change from stop-time for each period to a predetermined length period or running time if the tournament were to fall behind in time allotment. We do not anticipate this happening as we will have allowed 1 1⁄2 hours for each game and resurfacing.

  • All players are required to wear USA Hockey-approved protective equipment, including mouth guards.

  • Tied games will be decided as follows:

    • One minute rest at the end of the game before the overtime

    • One 5-minute sudden-death overtime period will be played. If the score remains tied at the end of the overtime period, a shootout will be used.

  • Noisemakers of any kind are not allowed. 

  • Home team wears light jerseys; Away team wears dark jerseys.

Battle of the Blades Countdown


Bantam A

  1. Eau Claire
  2. Wayzata B1 White
  3. Waukesha 
  4. SHAW
  5. Chippewa Falls
  6. Somerset 
  7. Patriots 
  8. Arrowhead


  1. Waunakee
  2. Fond Du Lac

Bantam B

  1. Eau Claire
  2. West Madison
  3. Ozaukee 
  4. Waukesha 
  5. Wayzata B2 Navy
  6.  Waunakee 
  7. Shawano
  8. Duluth Lakers


  1. Woodbury

Bantam C

  1. Minnetonka
  2. Mahtomedi
  3. Mpls Storm
  4. Burnsville/Apple Valley
  5. Waukesha 
  6. Hudson
  7. Patriots 
  8. Cottage Grove


  1. Forest Lake